HEL10 2021
Takaisin / Back
Humu Records proudly presents

Jonas and I will release their second album - listen to the band’s new single

Jonas and I, who plays pop music intertwined with folk, breaks the quiet life with a new single. Humu Records will release the song Shouts of the Coal Mine digitally on February 12, 2021 via streaming and download platforms. The single is the first taste of the band's upcoming album Where from Here.

If the theme of the band's acclaimed debut album was movement and its songs were written around the world, a new album was born in the endless silence of the wilderness of Lapland:

"After a small timeout and line-up changes, time at Lapland's cottage did good for the band's core group," says the band's singer Roope Hakkarainen. "There, a new vision of the upcoming album was born, and the recordings of the second album, which had already started earlier, gave way to the new one."

Musically and storywise , the album's theme is change. The album goes through troublesome, fearful, but joyfully liberating stages before a new beginning. Stylistically, the album still relies on familiar pop folk, but new influences are heard from Nordic indie and more kicking rock music.

Jonas and I is a band formed around Jonas Ursin and Roope Hakkarainen. The line-up’s acclaimed debut album, These Days, garnered praise and radio play from around the world and was selected near the top spot in Soundi magazine's Newcomer of the Year reader poll, for example. After the debut album, the band also released a modern version of Finland's first regional song, Savolaisen laulu, which was commissioned for the Finland100 anniversary and mainly re-composed. Savo’s Song, translated from Finnish into English, was performed together with Marco Hietala, known from the band Nightwish. The publication received a lot of media attention.

Humu Records will release the album Where from Here in vinyl and digitally on September 10, 2021. The new album’s first single, Shouts of the Coal Mine, will be released digitally on Friday, February 12th. The single release includes the bonus track Foxes.

Pre-listen new single now via Soundi Magazine!

Links and promo pics
Promo pic
Single cover

Info & Label
Humu Records

Humu Records

© humurecords, 2019

  • Humu Records / Jaakko Ryynänen
    Asemakatu 6b1
    70100 Kuopio

Youtube SoundCloud