Photo: Juha Laakso

Ville Lehtovaara will release his new album in December. Listen to the opening track from the album.

Ville Lehtovaara, one of Tampere Finland’s most experienced roots musicians, has been signed by Humu Records. The drummer’s studio album, Regroovable will be released on December 7, 2018.

Lehtovaara’s music can be described as twisted and fresh roots music, combining soul, blues, and garage, spiced with experimental sound trickery and cinematic moods. On this album Lehtovaara has combined instruments, beats, and exotic sounds, with musicians and talents that share his own vision.
— Many of these songs were born from just basic drum tracks I created and then asked friends to play or sing on them in their own unique style, says Lehtovaara.
— From the very beginning the top priority was the groove, combined with the personal viewpoint of each musician.

Many of Lehtovaara’s long time musical friends – friends he has recorded with and performed with for years – can be heard on this album. The list of friends include Jo’ Buddy, Jarkka Rissanen, Masa Orpana, Wiley Cousins, Tommi Laine, Dave Forestfield, Sami Sippola, Jorma Välimäki and Pekko Käppi.

The album was produced, edited, and mixed by Lehtovaara. Ismo Kätkä worked as a co-producer. Mikko Saarinen brought his personal mastering color to the album.

The first single Jekyll And Clyde will be released October 23 in digital media, and can be now streamed from the links below.  Humu Records will release the full album as a cd and in digital format December 7 2018.

Regroovable tracklist
01. Jekyll And Clyde (Lehtovaara/Laine)
02. Iko Iko (Crawford)
03. Regroovable (Lehtovaara)
04. Reelin’ And Rockin’ (Domino/Downing)
05. Space Funk (Lehtovaara/Laine/Sippola)
06. Remixed Messages (Lehtovaara)
07. Tango De La Muerte (Lehtovaara/Laine/Käppi)
08. Long Long Shadow (Lehtovaara/Laine/Suutarla)
09. Crawfish (Wise/Weisman)
10. Nobody's Fault But Mine (Trad.)
11. Mechanical Man (Lehtovaara/Laine)
12. V8 (Lehtovaara)

Interviews & contact
Humu Records