Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert has signed to Humu Records. The first single is out now

Jarkka Rissanen and his band called Sons of the Desert will release their brand new album Hybrid Soul on May 26th 2017. After last year highly acclaimed traditional blues and gospel record The 20th Century Box Jarkka Rissanen returns with full-lengther of original, self-composed material, crammed with ethnic and rhythm'n'blues vibes.

- Sometimes it's quite hard to say what kind of music we play because there's so many styles and influences combined. Personally I feel that as you get older all these layers of subconscious start to fragment and old progressive rock just begins to ooze in. Prog rock is one of the elements in this new record, says Rissanen.

In the band formed around Jarkka Rissanen (guitar) also plays Markus Väisänen (guitar) , Tatu Back (bass guitar) and Esa Kärki (drums).

Guitar master Jarkka Rissanen just celebrated his 60th year birthday in 2016 and after some forty-odd years of constant playing and touring he truly has become a legend in the Finnish roots music circuits. During the years he has played with many famous Finnish artists and bands like Finnforrest, Rauli Badding, Remu Aaltonen, Eero Raittinen, Pepe Ahlqvist etc. New Hybrid Soul album will be Rissanen's fifth solo record.

The album is out May 26th on CD and digital formats via Humu Records. Digital single Detroit Blues can be streamed from the link below

Hybrid Soul tracklist
1. Hipston
2. Miss Gumbo
3. The Fly
4. Safari Beat
5. Slow
6. Big Water
7. Uptown Rock
8. Detroit Blues
9. The Stone
10. Beauty Box

Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert

Label & contact
Humu Records
Jaakko Ryynänen

Album cover